A Writer’s Book of Days – 4 June 2016

You Don’t Know Where You Are

If you don’t know where you are, then how can you know where you are going? Reference points are a must for navigation. Certainty not required, but context is.

***

“We’ve been out here for hours.”

“Quit your whining.”

“How much longer is it going to be?”

“I said, shut up.”

“You don’t have to be so rude about it. I was only asking a simple question.”

“Look. I don’t know, okay? Just keep walking.”

“Ugh. But my feet hurt.”

“If you got out more often, maybe they wouldn’t hurt so much.”

“There you go being mean again.”

“Lord have mercy.”

“What do you want me to do? Magically make my feet feel better? This was your idea.”

“You wanted to come along. I didn’t ask you.”

“Do you even have any idea where we’re going?”

“…”

“You don’t, do you? Oh, my god. We’re lost.”

“We’re not lost.”

“Then where are we?”

“Uh, right here.”

“And where is that?”

“Does it matter? We’re just going to head back the way we came.”

“Uh-huh. Sure. Not in these shoes I’m not.”

“I told you to wear something sensible.”

“You didn’t tell me we were going to go wandering off into the wilderness without any clue as to where we were going.”

“Look, I’m sorry. I didn’t want you to come, anyway.”

“And why not?”

“Because sometimes I just want to be alone.”

“Then why let me come along in the first place?”

“Because you won’t take no for an answer. Ever.”

“Oh…”

“Look, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean for it to come out that way.”

“No. No, it’s fine. I’ll just leave you alone now.”

“Wait, stop. Come back.”

“It’s fine. I’ll just go back the way we came.”

“Don’t be like that. I want you here.”

“I think it’s pretty clear that you don’t.”

“Maybe not at first, but now that we’re out here…”

“It’s fine. Just let me go.”

“…”

“I’ll see you later.”

“…yeah, okay.”

“Bye.”

“…bye.”

Leave a Reply

