31 Days of Blogging – Day 1, Hello

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Hello. And Happy New Year.

As some of you may know, I’ve got big plans for this year. And if I’m going to get any of them done at all, then I need to set up a habit.

A routine.

A system.

And that’s what this post is about.

But first, to those of you who don’t know me, hello! Welcome.

My name is Joshua Kehe. I’m a fiction¹ writer who just launched his first book in December. And this year, I’ve set as my goal to write and publish five more books.

Sounds ambitious, I know. I’m practicing a lot of mindfulness and present-tense thinking to keep myself from being overwhelmed.

But that’s why I’m here. See, over the past ten years of working at this craft we call writing, I’ve learned that I’m far, far, far more productive when I’m writing consistently.

Plus my mood is better and I’m more attractive. 🙂

An hour a day is great, if I can just sit myself down and do it. More is gravy. But even if I can just eke out 20-30 minutes each day to write, I’m able to make some noticeable progress on my projects

And I’m far more likely to find the time the next day and keep the habit going. It’s like double prizes!

But establishing that habit from a standing start is where the difficulty comes in. And I’ve had a lot of standing starts over the years.

Fortunately, I’ve got a bit of momentum right now, both from the hype of releasing my book, and the natural surge of motivation associated with the start of a new year. So I’m going to use that to get this ball rolling.

Over the next 31 days (the entire length of January, look at that) I’ll be writing and posting one blog post of around five hundred words, in addition to my regular writing (both on-screen and off). By the end of the month, writing 31 days straight, I expect I’ll be in a pretty comfortable place when it comes to writing daily.

For those who have been following along with the daily fiction over the past few months, consider this its replacement while I finish writing the followup to INTO THE SILENCE. I know it’s not fiction, but I’ll try to keep it entertaining.

Also, credit where credit is due, I was motivated to do this challenge by Jeff Goins, a prolific blogger and writing coach who, among other things, started the My 500 Words website to help writers get started with their own writing habit the same way he did — 500 words at a time.

Jeff Goins gives out a daily prompt to those who sign on for the challenge, so I’ll be using those as my basis for these 31 posts.

(That’s actually the part I’m looking forward to the most. Because just like you, I have no idea what’s coming next.)

By the way, today’s prompt was “tell people you’re doing this.”

Honestly, one of the more nerve-wracking things I’ve done with my writing in public.

But here we are. All done and ready to start.

And who knows, at the end of 31 days, maybe I’ll just want to keep on going.

¹Sometimes I write other things. Like a weekly blog post about mindfulness. Writing exercises that lead me to reflect on my father, my depression, and my mortality. And a whole heck of a lot of thoughts about our current cultural bubble. I even wrote a Star Wars fanfic once. In other words, my thoughts and interests tend to be all over the place, and I expect that trend to continue.

Leave a Reply

